NaNoWriMo projects, Part 2

Disclaimer: The picture I used to make the cover with is not mine. I find all pictures by searching on Google or Tumblr (or whichever site I am directed to.) 

*

After finishing Finding True Love about two weeks into NaNoWriMo 2014, I decided to write a second novel during the remaining weeks. It took a few days, including some frantic planning and outlining, but I finally had my next project: Courting a Mermaid. (Don’t judge, I named these when I was a teenager and haven’t managed to find new titles yet! :P)

nanosmall2

What Courting a Mermaid is about:

Grey falls in love with Lea while on break, but their relationship seems doomed due to disapproval of his family and the fact that she is a mermaid; while Grey returns to college, Lea decides to become human for him, but ends up with a broken heart when it appears that Grey has changed his mind about them and wants nothing to do with her; she is unwilling to give him another chance when they meet again.

This is one of the stories that I began a bit further down my writing path, and I think that I can actually see the difference in the way I wrote it. Granted, it was written last year, just like Finding True Love, but it really seems to me that there’s a bit more maturity to it that has nothing to do with the ages of Grey and Lea versus Alex and Lola.

Once again, how my characters meet doesn’t make much sense and is probably unrealistic and there’s so much to work on: I didn’t do a lot of worldbuilding because while Lea used to be a mermaid, she wasn’t anymore and so I didn’t spend much time on the fantasy part of this story. Grey was supposed to be an only child, but then suddenly got an older sister around halfway through the plot. She played a significant role in the latter half but yeah, she did suddenly appear from nowhere.

But overall, I think that with enough rewrites and edits, this could become a decent novel and as soon as I’ve gotten out of the writing funk I’ve been for the past few months (and finished my NaNoWriMo 2015 story!) I’ll start working on making this worth reading 🙂

Until then, I have an excerpt for you! It’s a scene in the beginning of the story, just after Grey and Lea have met again.

“It doesn’t matter, Grey. It doesn’t change anything.”

“I know.” He looked at her, hands raised like he was imploring her to understand. “I know it doesn’t change what happened or how you feel about me. I know it doesn’t change how I feel about you.” He paused, seemed to struggle with something but then went on, determination setting into his eyes and expression. “It doesn’t change that I love you, and I’d prove it to you, I’d make it all up to you if you’d just give me a chance.”

“How?” she asked and hated how shaky her voice was. She couldn’t let him draw her in again, saying all the right things and that he loved her. She couldn’t let him hurt her again. “How could you possibly make it up to me? Can you turn me back into a mermaid and give me back my family? Can you make me forget the past four years?”

“No, I can’t.” He moved so quickly, she didn’t have time to react or protest as he framed her face in his hands. “I can’t do that, but I’d do anything for you. Don’t you know? I’d give up my life for you.”

Don’t believe him, she warned herself. He’d made promises before, giving her hope, but he wouldn’t be able to keep them. She couldn’t trust him, no matter what he said. So she resolved to prove it to him. “If I ask you to step down from your position in your family business, if I ask you to turn your back on your family like I did, will you? If I tell you that I will only be with you on that one condition, will you choose me? Will you throw away everything you worked for, just to be with me?”

She had her answer when all he did was stare at her. She hadn’t actually meant any of it, hadn’t even considered being with him again under any circumstances, but it hurt nonetheless that he didn’t answer, couldn’t even pretend that she was more important to him than anything else.

It was that thought, that their love or whatever it was between them, was still so one-sided, so much more coming from her than from him, that finally brought on the tears.

“See?” she said with a teary smile. “You can’t even answer me. Once again, you promise you’ll do anything for me, but you won’t do what I did for you without any further thought.” She stepped out of his grip and closer to the door, ready to flee the room as soon as they were done talking. She knew she should have left earlier, before he dug up all the bad memories. “How many times more will you tell me things you won’t do when it comes down to it? How can I trust you, Grey, when you say things, promise me things, but you never follow through? How can you expect me to deal with that?”

She turned to leave, but he grabbed her arm. “Lea, wait. Just give me–”

“No, Grey.” Feeling the tears run down her face, she tore her arm out of his grip. “I don’t want to give you anything anymore. I’m done giving you everything and getting nothing in return. I’m done with you.”

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo projects, Part 2

  1. Love your cover! Just thought I’d suggest a website you may be interested in. All the photos are public domain, no royalties, no credit necessary etc.
    “All photos published on Unsplash are licensed under Creative Commons Zero which means you can copy, modify, distribute and use the photos for free, including commercial purposes, without asking permission from or providing attribution to the photographer or Unsplash.” Check it out!

    https://unsplash.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, for the compliment and the link 🙂 The website is perfect and I’ll definitely have to use some of the beautiful photos for my other covers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

