Life after Camp NaNoWriMo

It’s been around half a month since Camp NaNoWriMo ended, and quite a lot has happened.

After 7 years of writing on it, and most of the work done during NaNoWriMo 2015 and last month’s Camp, I’ve finally managed to finish Second Chances. At 44,444 words, it’s my longest story yet, and I figure that after several edits, it’ll be even longer. But for now, I’m very happy about it and I’ll let it sit for a while before I begin to work on edits.

I’m still considering which story to work on during Camp in July (you can read more about the two stories here) as I’ve figured out some of the biggest plotholes I’ve had for Endless Love. Meanwhile, I feel a little worried and daunted about Forever Is Not Long Enough, what with the (possibly fictional) supernatural world and all the worldbuilding that entails. I’m hopeful, though, that I’ll figure something out in time. After all, there’s still a month and a half left! 🙂

One thing I regret is that I haven’t stuck to my plan on writing daily. Since writing “the end” for Second Chances – and even before that, actually! – I haven’t written much at all. The only thing that makes it better is that instead, I’ve been reading much more than before. I’m spending all my weekends and every free minute I have on week days with a book, and managed to read five (!) in the first week of May when I took two days off to have myself a long weekend. Granted, it’s not what I’d planned on doing, but I figure I should do something about the millions of e-books that I have, not to mention the fact that I haven’t read half the books on my bookshelf yet.

So that’s what’s been up with me, writing and reading-wise, so far. I’m not sure you’d want to know what happens in my personal life, haha.

Hope this month’s been going well for all of you!
E.

Leave a Reply

