July Camp project

If you’ve been following me on Twitter or read my last few blog posts, you’ll probably have noticed that I’ve decided to participate in Camp NaNoWriMo this July. I even got my project info updated already!

I was supposed to do a lot of prepping, getting to know my characters and make the antagonist more … antagonistic, but I haven’t really done anything. I still don’t know half of what’s going to happen in the story (especially concerning the second plot with the antagonist) or why the antagonist does what he does. So it looks like I’ll be pantsing most of it again, but that doesn’t surprise me at all, haha.

I do have a little summary and excerpt that I’ve written so far, and a few random scenes from the early-ish part of the story. You can find the first two on my Camp profile, and I’m considering sharing a couple of lines from the scenes on Twitter today (June 14) but I also figured I’d put the summary and excerpt here on my blog as well.

The general idea for this story, tentatively titled Forever Is Not Long Enough, is as follows.

Tal “died” when her boyfriend Channing went through his first werewolf transition and killed her. When they meet again, she decides to get her revenge by breaking his heart, but things become complicated when her feelings for him resurface and Jason, another vampire who claims he is her mate, reappears in her life determined to win her back.

I’ve had this story in mind for several years now, but it’s definitely true that it’s best to write a story when you’re ready for it. I didn’t feel like I was prepared enough to write a supernatural romance story, or that my writing was good enough for it. In all honesty, I still don’t feel quite as ready, but I’m also very excited to kind of write out of my comfort zone. I’m hoping that if I do well enough with FINLE and feel that my writing of supernatural romance doesn’t totally suck, I’ll finally start working on Tales of Chance, my trilogy about Chance, the son of Lucifer, and his quest(s).

Anyway, here’s the prologue-y opening of FINLE that sounded a lot creepier and foreboding and gloomy in my head. But oh well, I’ll have enough time to improve it later 🙂

~*~

The moon hung low over the eerily silent forest, illuminating the meadow and the two figures among the flattened grass.

A young girl lay unmoving in the arms of a man, even as he held her gently and swayed back and forth as if rocking her to sleep. They were both covered in blood, and the scent of copper was strong in the air.

From within the shadows, he watched, waiting.

The faint beating of the young girl’s heart slowed, then stopped. In the deathly silence, a raw sound of grief shattered the stillness and echoed through the air.

And in the shadows, he smiled.

2 thoughts on “July Camp project

    • Thank you! I hope I’ll get the story halfway decently written 🙈 Good luck to you as well, if you’re participating, and happy writing either way 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

